Home
Reconciling Ways of Knowing

About This Collection

The Reconciling Ways of Knowing

This forum, Indigenous Knowledge and Science, provides a timely opportunity to strengthen the relationships between the paradigms of Western scientific and Indigenous Traditional knowledge to meaningfully integrate Indigenous ways of knowing into stewardship policy and decision-making processes, ensure the ability of our lands, waters, and resources to provide for us now and for generations to come, facilitate a relationship between Indigenous Peoples and Canada in which the different ways of being and knowing are equitably recognized, respected and better positioned to work together for mutual benefit into the future, and achieve commitments to reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples.

Curated by mokiethecat

Dialogue 5: Drawing on Indigenous Knowledge in Responding to COVID-19

Reconciling Ways of Knowing “Drawing on Indigenous Knowledge in Responding to COVID-19.”

This dialogue originally aired on November 12, 2020 at 10:30 am Pacific / 12:30 pm Central / 2:30 pm Atlantic.

Moderator: Darrin Mah, JD facilitates a dialogue amongst Elder Dr. Dave Courchene, Jr, Grandmother Katherine Whitecloud, Miles Richardson, OC, Tom Swanky, JD, and Dr. Sabina Ijaz; on the history of what Indigenous Peoples have learned in responding to pandemics, how this informed their responses to COVID-19, and what could be learned more broadly within Canadian society and the global community from these lessons.

EarthSayers Dr. Sabina Ijaz; Tom Swanky, JD; Grandmother Katherine Whitecloud

Leave a comment on YouTube



Follow EarthSayersFollow EarthSayers on Twitteron Twitter

Sustainability Advocate Blog  •  About EarthSayers  •  Formats  •  FAQ  •  Privacy Policy
Site Map  •  Home

Earthsayers: The Voices of Sustainability

All content © 2008-2021